We’ve all wanted to punch the gas pedal in our vehicle at some point in our lives, but if you make it a habit of driving like Dominic Torreto in the Fast and the Furious, odds are you’re going to end up with a reckless driving citation, or worse. Here’s a close look at what constitutes a reckless driving charge, what penalties you could face and how to best contest the ticket.
Under Minnesota law, reckless driving is defined as driving while aware but consciously disregarding “substantial and unjustifiable risk that the driving may result in harm to another or another’s property.” Oftentimes this involves excess speeds or unnecessary driving risks like weaving in and out of different lanes. The state statute also says that being caught while conducting a street race will result in a reckless driving charge.
Reckless Driving Charges and Penalties
Like most criminal offenses, there is a basic reckless driving charge and an upgraded charge should certain factors be present. Here’s a look at both types of reckless driving tickets.
- Reckless Driving – The basic form of a reckless driving citation is considered a misdemeanor offense. This means you will face a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 90 days in jail, and you could also lose your driver’s license depending on your previous driving record.
- Reckless Driving With Injury – If your reckless driving actions result in serious bodily injury to a passenger or another person on the road, you will face an upgraded reckless driving charge. This is considered a gross misdemeanor offense, punishable by up to one year in jail and fines up to $3,000. While it is not mandatory, you can also have your driver’s licenses suspended for up to one year.
Should I Get A Lawyer For My Reckless Driving Ticket?
What we’ve noticed in our years of practice is that individuals who get a reckless driving ticket tend to have other driving offenses on their record. This isn’t always the case, but for the majority of people it usually holds true. This can be problematic for a number of reasons. If you have previous driving offenses, you’re more likely to lose your license due to the most recent reckless driving charge. Also, judges are less likely to impose minimum fines since, to them, it’s apparent that you have not learned your lesson about driving in a safe manner.
So if you have other violations on your record, it is always a good idea to set up a consultation with a lawyer if you’ve been charged with reckless driving in Minnesota. At Appelman Law Firm, we offer a free initial case evaluation where you can sit down with an attorney and talk about all your options. We’ll tell you if it’s worth your time to hire a lawyer or if it’s something you may be able to contest on your own. If we think we can help, you can then choose to hire our firm to represent you in court. In general, drivers who hire an attorney to contest their reckless driving charge have far better outcomes than individuals who try to go it alone.
Minneapolis Traffic Attorney
Since the initial consultation comes with no strings attached, there’s no reason not to at least talk over your case with an attorney. If you want to set that up with Avery, you can do so by clicking here or by calling our office at (952) 224-2277. We look forward to helping your with your traffic case.