You may hear the terms “driving after suspension” and “driving after revocation” used synonymously, but they are two very different charges with very different potential penalties. Below, we explain the difference between the two.
Reasons For Driver’s License Suspensions in Minnesota
Of the two, a driver’s license suspension as well as a charge of driving after suspension are less serious than a driver’s license revocation or a charge of driving after revoked. You can have your driver’s license suspended for violating a number of different laws, but the most common reasons for a driver’s license suspension include:
- Numerous Traffic Violations
- Driving Without Insurance
- Causing An Accident With Injury
- Being Convicted of Reckless Driving
- Psychological or Physical Disqualification
- Failing to Appear in Court
- Unpaid Child Support
- Misuse of your Driver’s License
- Multiple School Bus Violations
- Fleeing From a Police Officer
It’s also worth noting that if you are caught driving with a suspended license, your current license suspension will be extended.
Reasons For Driver’s License Revocation in Minnesota
Your license can also be completely revoked for committing certain actions or offenses. Offenses where your license may be revoked instead of suspended include:
- Driving Under the Influence
- Driving Over 100 MPH
- Committing a Felony in which a Motor Vehicle is used
- Numerous Gross Misdemeanors in a short period
- Fleeing the Scene of an Accident
- Repeated Traffic Violations while Suspended
The Differences Between The Two
The two charges share some similarities and differences. For example, both charges of driving after suspension and driving after revoked are considered misdemeanor offenses, which are punishable by up to 90 days in jail and fines up to $1,000. A conviction for either will also extend the duration of your current suspension or revocation.
The biggest difference between the two likely comes down to suspension length and the cost of reinstating your valid license. In general, a person who has their license suspended will receive a shorter suspension length than someone who has their license revoked, but this is certainly not always the case. Since revocation is reserved for more serious offenses, the length of revocation is typically longer than the length of suspension.
There’s also a big different in the price of reinstatement. According to the Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicle’s website, the reinstatement fee for a suspended license is $21 ($20 fee and $1 technology upgrade fee), while it’s an astounding $681 ($680 base fee and $1 technology fee upgrade) to have your license reinstated after it’s been revoked.
Minneapolis Traffic Attorneys
Clearly you can see why it’s important to fight a charge that involves a suspension or revocation of your license! For more information on how we’ll fight for your right to retain your license, reach out to Appelman Law Firm today.