If you make a mistake behind the wheel, there’s a chance that your license will be suspended or revoked by the state. This can make it difficult to get to work or school, which can lead to the loss of your income, declining grades or a whole other host of problems. To ensure that people aren’t excessively burdened by the loss of their driver’s license, Minnesota allows certain offenders to apply for what’s known as a limited driver’s license.
As the name implies, a limited driver’s license allows a person to drive to certain places even after their original license was suspended or revoked by the court. There are strict guidelines to the limited license, and any deviation from those guidelines can result in the loss of your limited license and additional penalties. Here’s a look at the places you are allowed to drive to and from with a limited drivers’ license:
- Your job or a job interview
- Chemical dependency class
- School or a similar educational purpose
- Medical appointments/emergencies
- Grocery store
- To meet specific family needs (daycare, getting kids from practice, etc.)
That’s basically it, although you may be able drive for other specific activities if you bring them up to the court and they are deemed worthy. That being said, most activities that don’t fall into any of the above categories won’t be cleared. The state isn’t going to let you keep driving to your Wednesday softball league or to your cabin on the weekends.
Minnesota Limited License Eligibility
Limited licenses aren’t given to just everybody. Under Minnesota law, the only people who are eligible to apply for a limited driver’s license are people who:
- Have had their license revoked for first-offense implied consent violations; or
- First-offense DUI convictions where the offender blew under a 0.16 (or the test was refused).
Additionally, the state requires that a person must be currently employed or a full-time homemaker in order to qualify for a limited driver’s license.
Applying For A Limited License
If you want to apply for a limited license, talk to your defense attorney. We’ve helped a number of people successfully apply for and receive a limited license, and we can help you as well.
In order to get a limited license, you must wait at least 15 days from the day your license was suspended or revoked before applying for a limited license. In order to obtain a limited license after revocation, a driver must:
- Pass a written test on Chapters 7 and 8 of the Minnesota Driver’s Manual.
- Pay a $680 license reinstatement fee, plus a $26.75 new license processing fee.
- Meet with a driving evaluator for limited license approval.
Minneapolis Traffic Lawyers
If you are interested in pursuing a limited driver’s license after a DUI or another traffic violation that resulted in a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, reach out to Avery Appelman and the experienced lawyers at Appelman Law Firm today.